February 19, 2019

Hi everyone! This post was very fun to do with the hubby! However, this can be done whether you are single, married or in a relationship. I never really put thought into our love language or honestly did not know what “love languages” were. Until I heard of love languages from two of my favorite podcasts at the moment. This is what inspired me!

If you follow me on Instagram, you probably saw I had shared my favorite podcasts at the moment. They were “Behind the Scenes” and “The Good Life” podcasts. They are both by young married couples with kids, so I can definitely relate to them. They spoke about each other's love languages and I thought it would be interesting and helpful to do it with George. They have also mentioned how helpful it has been in their relationships. So naturally, I turned to Google to find out more information about love languages. I researched it a little bit more to have a better understanding of what a love language really are. Basically, love languages are the ways we prefer to communicate in our love life and relationships.

I came across this website here and saw that there are a total of 5 love languages! I will list them below: 

  1.  Words of Affirmation
  2. Acts of Service
  3. Receiving gifts
  4. Quality time
  5. Physical touch

After seeing these, everything was starting to make more sense to me and as to why this is important to know about your significant other. The coolest part was that there is also a test you can take. The tests will ask you questions and it will list these languages in order of importance. George and I took the test separately and decided to share our answers when we were together. Each language comes with a short explanation, to help you better understand them. My number one love language is physical touch and George’s number one is acts of service and quality time! (it is ok to have more than one top answer). Even though George and I have been together for 10 years. It is refreshing to find this out about each other in more detail! Now, I know what he appreciates most is an act of service or quality time. An example, would be to pick us his dry cleaning or simply saying “Let me do that for you”. For quality time, we can make more time for date nights or simply enjoying each other’s company. Something as simple as that will make him feel more loved. It may sound silly, but those are his top love languages. For me, I would like a random hug or kiss throughout the day. Physical touch is what makes me feel more loved. Knowing this, I can always keep this in mind when doing something for my hubby.

George and I challenge you guys to take this test and share your results with us! We really had a fun time doing this and truly enjoyed getting to know each other a little better. You can find the website here!

xo, Kim